January 1919  



Sinn Féin hold a large number of meetings around the country focusing on their demand for the release of all political prisoners.

Gallagher (1953), pg 56


Following an earlier decision to break the large Cork Brigade of the Irish Volunteers (which covered all of Co Cork) into three brigades, on this night the (West) Cork No. 3 Brigade was formed at a meeting Kilnadur, Dunmanway presided over by Michael Collins. More Detail 

O'Donnoghue (1986), pg 35; Deasy 1973, pgs 58 & 319


Meeting held in house of Batt Walsh, Glashbee, Mallow to form (North) Cork No. 2 Brigade presided over by Tomás MacCurtainMore Detail

O'Donnoghue (1986), pg36


Joe Devlin, the Nationalist MP for the Falls in Belfast, writes of his strong inclination against attending Westminster.  However, eventually, he and other five Irish Party (Nationalist) MPs do attend.

Phoenix (1994), pgs 59-61


26 Sinn Féin MPs met in the Mansion House and agree to convene Dáil Eireann as an independent Constituent Assembly of the Irish Nation.  Sean T. O’Kelly, George Gavan Duffy and Piaras Béaslaí are among the members of the committee appointed to prepare for the opening and invitations are sent to all elected MPs in the name of Count Plunkett (as Chairman of the meeting of Republican Representatives). Count Plunkett had just been released after seven months in jail.

Macardle (1999), pg 272; Gallagher (1953), pg 56


The Chief Secretary for Ireland, Edward Shortt is replaced by Ian Macpherson.  (Shortt is promoted to Home Secretary.)  Macpherson was Highland Presbyterian Scot and Liberal MP.  This appointment made a meeting of the new British Cabinet headed by Llyod George.

Townshend (1975), pg 20; Macardle (1999), pg 272


The Versailles Peace Conference starts in Paris.

Gallagher (1953), pg 56


First meeting of Dáil Eireann in Round Room, Mansion House, Dublin.  Of the 73 Sinn Féin MPs elected only 27 TDs present, 36 were “ ghlas an Gallaibh” including De Valera and Griffith.  Cathal Brugha elected Acting President of the Ministry pro tempore (Gallagher says Speaker) and Sean T O'Kelly as Ceann Comhairle (Speaker).   More Detail    Comment

Curran J M (1980), pg23; MacEoin in The Kerryman (1955), pg 14; Figgis (1927), pgs 229-233; Macardle (1999), pgs 271-277; Gallagher (1953), pgs 56-62; Daly (2017), pgs 334-339


Ambush at Soloheadbeg, Co Tipperary. In what is normally given as the first act of the War of Independence, an ambush is carried out by members of the South Tipperary Brigade of the Irish Volunteers (IRA) on cart carrying gelignite for a quarry in the Soloheadbeg area (about four miles from Tipperary Town and about one mile from Limerick Junction).   In the ambush, the two RIC men, guarding the consignment of gelignite, Constables James McDonnell and Patrick O'Connell, are killed. More Detail 

Breen (1989), pg33;  Abbott (2000), pgs 30-42; Ryan (1945), pgs 56-68


Escape of four IRA prisoners from Usk Prison.  They were Joseph McGrath TD, Barney Mellows, Frank Shouldice and George Geraghty.  (Murphy says 22nd)

Coogan (1990), pg 90; Murphy (2017), pg 439


Opening of the Irish Race Convention in Philadelphia - lasted two days and attended by 5,000 delegates.  They appoint three-man commission to present the Irish-American cause at the Paris (Versailles) Peace conference.

Hopkinson (2002), pg xiv & pg 166


South Tipperary declared a military area

Hopkinson (2002), pg xiv


Staff at the Monaghan Asylum go on strike with newly appointed ITGWU official, Peadar O’Donnell, as organiser.  On the 28th, the strikers take over the asylum and run in as a ‘soviet’ with O’Donnell as ‘governor'.  They raise the red flag and are surrounded by armed police.  Negotiations take place, resulting in victory for the workers.

O’Drisceoil (2001), pgs 12 & 13


Following a meeting of the Executive of the Volunteers earlier in the month, the editorial of An t-Óglach (the official publication of the Irish Volunteers) states that the new situation after the forming of Dáil Eireann “justifies Irish Volunteers in treating the armed forces of the enemy – whether soldiers or policemen – exactly as a National Army would treat the members of an invading army”

Macardle (1999), pg 291


HomePage     1919     Next Month      Bibliography